Rosette Cake

20140602_182457

I’ve always wanted to try making one of these because it looks stunning and seemed like fun to do.  I’ve put this is the home baking section as this is by no means professional standard.  It was me and my daughter having some fun on her last day of half term holidays.  I didn’t even have piping bags at home and so used ziplock bags, small ones at that, with a small cut made in one corner. I actually ran out of icing sugar and it was a hot day so the buttercream was slightly soft but hey, we had fun, it still looked stunning and it tasted delicious.

The cake is a 7 inch round madeira vanilla cake (bean of course!), baked in two pans and sandwiched with fresh whipped double cream (150 ml whipped to stiff peaks)

For the buttercream:

1 1/2 cup butter

6 cups icing sugar

I used dusky pink paste colour by colorflair and caramel extract to flavour

I didn’t have this much icing sugar so I used 1 cup butter, and made do with the sugar I had but if I were to make again I would go with the above amounts.

Method:

A good YouTube vid by someone else who seems like she’s made hundreds!

I used three intensities of the dusky pink: dark, medium and light. I made a little more of the dark for the crumb coat and a little more of the light for the top of the cake. I would say split in the following way:

Dark 2/5

Medium 1/5

Light 2/5

But you don’t have to be exact

I piped a row of dark pink rosettes along the bottom, then a row of medium and then the light and finished with piping rosettes on the top of the cake with the remaining light pink.

It was very very easy to do even though I didn’t have my usual items at hand. If you can pipe a swirl on a cupcake, definitely try this as your next challenge.  It’s very forgiving to mistakes so beginners have a go!

For next time..

1) Use a slightly stiffer buttercream, or a different type of buttercream (swiss/Italian)

2) Try this in fresh cream instead of butter cream or perhaps the sides fresh cream rossettes and the top in buttercream rossettes or the other way around.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

